Curation Activity

For this part of the assignment, I created a board on Pinterest to do with all the things that influence and inspire my creative process.

Direct link to the board –> https://www.pinterest.com/cooke4211/ciu110-my-influences/

It includes character design sheets for popular films, shows and games, as well as a bunch of anatomical references as humans have always been my favourite thing to draw. Most of these are character designs for anime characters, anime to me is an art form in its own right.

Vintage book covers are also on there, the hand-painted kind that shout 1970s. The artwork of old fantasy books is beautiful, intricate and very difficult to recreate. I prefer this style greatly over the photo-manip covers we see everywhere today.

Movie posters are also a huge part of what got me interested in graphic design, so they needed to be on the board somewhere.

I love looking at beautiful conceptual art and paintings for inspiration. These drive me to improve my own skills and help me to set goals for myself as an artist.

Leave a Reply

