Your Income and Your Art

Otherwise called “How on Earth Do You Make Money Out of the Things You Actually Like Doing?”. Long-winded, yes, but it’s also possible! Which is very exciting for people who just want to make things and have a great time doing it. Who says you have to hate your job, after all?

With that said, there’s this huge process surrounding turning your most favourite-est thing to do into an actual career and I’ve never given it all that much thought before. Do the thing, get paid for the thing. That’s it. Except that’s not it. I know, I know, I’m a big silly head, yes. But come on, have YOU thought about it?

woman-pointing-her-finger-006
incriminating stare.jpeg

If the answer to that is yes, you’re doing great and I apologise, keep being awesome.

The rest of you (and me), DISHONOUR ON YOU, DISHONOUR ON YOUR COW (and also me) ((and my cow)).

Okay, but how hard can it really be to have a successful career in creative industries? That is entirely up to you, actually. Sure, there’s lots to think about – time, cost, who you’re working with, who you’re working FOR, how you’re going to make your work accessible, and ultimately where in all heck your income is going to come from. But if you love what you do, it’s worth all the effort.

Take my mother, for example. She works at a nursery and gets to talk about native trees all day. It probably sounds pretty lame to you, and I’ve worked at the place so I can tell you it kind of is, a bit, sorry mum, but she did her degree in forestry and became a business manager and she’s happy as anything. My mum says that if you don’t want it, don’t bother, go find what you like, and do that instead.

Of course, it’s not THAT simple.

slide02-sad-man
It’s a hard knock life, for us

Haha, yeah. It’s really not simple at all. The money will not just appear, not even if you plant a dollar in the back yard – or at least I don’t think it will, Mythbusters never returned my calls. Ever heard the term “starving artists”? There’s a reason it exists. No one has it easy right from the get go, the chances that any of us will set out into the great big creative world and score immediate success is pretty slim. This stuff takes years, so they say. But if we love our stuff, I guess we just have to keep on truckin’.

 

Leave a Reply

